FIFA World Cup 2018: Germany win over Italy, win the tournament 4-1

FIFA World Cups are back!

Germany have now won the FIFA World Championship and, if they do not lose out, will win the 2018 FIFA World Player of the Year award.

The last time they were victorious was in 2014. 

Germany’s captain, Thiago Alcantara, scored the equaliser as he struck for the first time since the World Cup. 

Italy’s Giacomo Bonaventura also netted as they defeated France 3-1 on aggregate to secure a place in the quarter-finals. 

With the match ending 2-2, Germany now have a 10 point lead over France and could reach the knockout stages of the tournament in 2019 if they win the final. 

Here are the teams that were playing and the points they had. 

Team England (12) England’s top scorer is Danny Welbeck with 12 goals. 

England also have a goal difference of -10 with Italy having the edge. 

France (12)*The two-time winners of the World Cups have the edge over Italy with 10 points. 

Spain (12*)Spain has been the clear favourites to win the World Championships. 

Netherlands (10) Nur Kuyper scored twice to send Netherlands to the quarter final.

The Dutchmen also have the advantage over Italy on goals scored. 

Canada (7) The two hosts of the final are the hosts of this year’s tournament. 

Brazil (6) Brazil have won the World Under-20 Championships three times. 

Turkey (6)*The Turkish champions have not lost in their last five matches. 

Austria (6*)Austria are second on goal difference and have a point lead. 

South Korea (5)*South Korea have scored the fewest goals in the tournament with just four. 

Russia (5*)Russia have a lead of three points over Germany. 

New Zealand (4)*The Kiwis have won two of their last three matches.

The two teams who are tied for the most points are South Korea and Germany with the Japanese team having the highest score. 

The full results are as follows: Germany (12): 1.

Germany’s Thiago Silva scored the opening goal, which was the only goal that mattered in the match as the visitors won the opening game of the tie. 


Germany have scored 13 goals in their five World Cup matches and have the highest average score.


Germany are unbeaten in their past six World Cup games.


Italy’s Alessandro Nesta scored two goals in a 6-0 win over Portugal. 


Italy have won four of their past five matches and are unbeaten at home in the World Champions Cup.


Germany lead the tournament on goal differential with 17 points.

The next World Cup match will take place on July 29 in Brasilia. 

(All times local): 3.18pm: Italy 1-0 Germany: Alessandro De Melo (Pescara) has opened the scoring in the first minute of play.

2.30pm: Germany 1-1 England: Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich) scores his first goal of the match.

3pm: France 0-2 Germany: Thiago Alonso (Bastia) makes it 2-0 in the 23rd minute.

4pm: Portugal 0-0 Italy: Alvaro Morata (Torino) has put Italy into the lead in the 31st minute.

5pm: Brazil 0-1 Italy: Roberto Soldado (FC Barcelona) has scored his first career goal for Brazil.

6pm: Netherlands 1-2 Italy: Mario Gomez (Cristiano Ronaldo) has sealed the win.

(All time local): 1-3: Italy 2-1 Germany: Diego Forlan (Bayerno) has netted the first goal.

2-4: Italy 3-0 England: Andrea Pirlo (Juventus) has the first of his two goals for Italy.

4-5: Italy 0-3 Italy: Thierry Henry (Manchester United) has added the second goal.

5-5 (Italy win the tie): Italy 3 – 0 Germany: Alassane Plewa (Celtic) has hit the post.

6-6 (Italy won the tie).(All Times local): 3.38pm: England 0-4 Italy: Mohamed Salah (Tottenham) has made it 3-4.

5.05pm: Spain 1-4 Germany: Sergio Busquets (Bayeron) has fired a volley past goalkeeper Edin Dzeko in the 38th minute.

6:15pm: South Korea 0-5 Italy: Park Jae-ho (Bayersang) has created his own chance with a volley in the 42nd minute.

7.20pm: Turkey 0-6 Germany: Seyhan Ozyakup (Sevilla) has equalised for Turkey with a header in the 84th minute from